Off the Rails with Station to Station, part I

A little over a month ago, I was returning from an unbelievable and life changing journey from New York to Oakland aboard a vintage train with a collective of very creative, driven and talented people.  Doug Aitken’s Station to Station tour came and went in what seemed like a meteoric flash, but the memories we all have… well, those we’ll keep.  So with a little anxiety (it’s a lot to cover!) and a great deal of respect for what the whole team created, I give you: Off the Rails with Station to Station. (originally published via Art Nerd City Guides)

Friday, September 6th

NYC

Until we hit the ground in New York, the tour was basically “theoretical”: a plan on paper, which had not yet been realized.  The production team spent months planning a three-week, nine-city, nomadic cultural festival that had no pre-existing template… but once the yurts started going up and the production office was in full effect, it all became a reality.

Ernesto Neto and Kenneth Anger Yurts in Brooklyn
Ernesto Neto and Kenneth Anger Yurts in Brooklyn

Our 60 some-odd crew of producers, editors, photographers, engineers and directors met as a unit for the first time in New York and we couldn’t wait to get on the train; but first…  Riverfront Studios, Bklyn.

View from the production office
View from the production office

I was so focused on getting my part of the show done right, that I did not snap nearly enough photos.  For a view on what happened in New York, have a look here: http://stationtostation.com/location/new-york/

Olaf Breuning’s Smoke Performance started the Happening and the KC Cobras ushered the crowd into the event space.  There were many memorable moments that night.  It was the first time we witnessed our Auctioneers and Whipper, who became immediate STS tour favorites; and the Suicide performance that closed the night was one for the punk rock history books.

Published by Fresh Condiments

I spent my early career years riding in vans with bands and working at the best independent record labels in Chicago: Touch and Go and Wax Trax. Music has been my lifeblood, but fashion and art have become equal obsessions. I've lived in New York, LA, Chicago, Yucca Valley and London. I have run marketing departments for major record labels, and worked with Doug Aitken’s Station to Station, Beastie Boys, Joni Mitchell, David Lynch/Twin Peaks, Damien Hirst; and ArcLight Cinemas Hollywood, the home of the iconic Cinerama Dome.​ When I visit a new city, there are three things that are essential: the best coffee and baked goods on offer, and a list of places to see local art. I will drive out of my way for a bag of fresh coffee beans or the perfect baguette.

Leave a comment